OSHA recommends Outreach training as an orientation to occupational safety and health for workers. Some states require OSHA Outreach training and have enacted laws mandating the 10hr and/or 30hr OSHA training requirements. Likewise, some employers, unions, organizations or other jurisdictions may also require OSHA Outreach training.
OSHA 10-hour or 30-hour training programs are in-depth certification courses, created by OSHA and administered by government authorized trainers. The 10-hour class is intended to provide workers with awareness of common job-related safety and health hazards, while the 30-hour class is more appropriate for supervisors or workers with some safety responsibility.
Is OSHA training required in your state? Take a look at the specific requirements for your state.
OSHA 10-hour Construction Curriculum
The mandatory curriculum must include an introduction to OSHA, personal protective equipment and lifesaving equipment, health hazards in construction and the “focus four hazards” which are falls, electrocution, struck by, and caught in/or between. The elective topics include cranes, excavations, material handling, scaffolds, stairways, ladders, hand and power tools, and one hour of optional material covering industry hazards or an expansion on required topics.
- Know Your Rights – Under Federal law, you are entitled to a safe workplace. Training also plays a key role in the prevention of accidents.
- OSHA Accepted Provider
- DOL Plastic Card Shipped Within 2 Weeks
- Reg. Price: 10hr: $89 - 30hr: $189
- Enter Promo Code "osha15off" at Checkout
OSHA 30-hour Construction Curriculum
The mandatory curriculum must mirror that of the 10-hour construction curriculum but the time required is increased. The elective topics are expanded in the 30-hour training to 12 hours and they may include safety information about concrete and masonry construction, confined space entry, ergonomics, excavations, fire protection, motor vehicle safety, powered industrial vehicles, safety and health programs, steel erection, welding and cutting, foundations for safety leadership, and 3 hours of optional material covering industry hazards, policies, and an expansion on required topics.
States that require 10hr/30hr OSHA Outreach training:
Connecticut, Massachusetts, Missouri, Nevada, New Hampshire, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and West Virginia
- All employees who perform work on any public building project paid for in whole or part by state funding, or any of its agencies, where the total cost is over $100,000. This law went into effect in 2007.
- Each contractor needs to furnish proof that all employees have taken the OSHA 10 hour Construction Course within 30 days of being awarded the contract. Employees who have not completed the course are subject to removal from the worksite.
- The OSHA 10 hour Construction Course must also be retaken every 5 years.
Reference: Connecticut General Statutes – Section 31‐53b – Construction Safety
- Missouri Construction Safety Training Act requires all contractors and subcontractors who enter into contracts with public bodies for construction of public works to train their on-site employees regarding the potential hazards they may encounter. The law went into effect in 2009.
- Any employee found on a work site subject to this section without documentation of the successful completion of an OSHA 10 Hour course shall be afforded 20 days to produce such documentation before being subject to removal from the project.
- It is also the employer’s responsibility to make sure all their employees have their certification card and turn in proof to the contracting agency before the job starts. The employer can be fined for allowing an employee onsite who does not have a valid OSHA 10 hour certification card.
- Missouri Statutes – Chapter 292 – Health and Safety of Employees | Section §292.675
- Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations – Required Construction Training
- All employees to be employed at a worksite needs to complete the OSHA 10 hour construction course before beginning work on the worksite. The law went into effect in 2004.
- Any employee found on a worksite subject to this section without documentation of successful completion of the OSHA 10 hour course shall be subject to immediate removal.
- The Massachusetts law specifically says “at least 10 hours” – so an OSHA 30 hour construction course would also enable the worker to meet these requirements.
- It is also the employer’s responsibility to make sure all their employees have their certification card and turn in proof to the contracting agency before the job starts. The employer can be fined for allowing an employee onsite who does not have a valid OSHA10 hour certification card.
- The OSHA 10 hour Construction Course must also be retaken every 5 years.
Reference: Massachusetts General Laws – Chapter 30: Section 39S
- Any person who signs a contract to work on a construction, reconstruction, alteration, remodeling, installation, demolition, maintenance, or repair of any public work or building by a state agency or municipality with a total project cost of $100,000 or more. The law went into effect in 2007.
- Employees who fail to obtain their OSHA 10 Hour Card after 15 days of starting work, will be removed from the jobsite.
- Employers can face penalties up to $2,500 and a civil penalty of $100 per employee for each day of noncompliance.
- Title XXIII: Labor – Chapter 227 Safety and Health of Employees – 277:5-a Occupational Safety and Health Administration Certification;
- New Hampshire Department of Labor – Safety
- New York State Labor Laws – Chapter 282 – Labor Law §220-h took effect on July 2008. All public works contracts for New York state and municipal construction jobs of $250,000 or more require certification that all employees performing work under the contract will have successfully completed an OSHA 10-hour construction course.
- New York City OSHA Laws – NYC Int. 790-A of Local Law 48 of 2008 requires all construction workers to complete an OSHA Outreach 10 hour course within the previous 5 calendar years.
- New York City OSHA Laws also requires all site supervisors complete an OSHA Outreach 30 hour training course.
- Renewal: Once you have completed OSHA 10 training for work on Article 8 public work projects, New York State does not require renewal. However, New York City does require renewal of the training every 5 years.
- By December 1, 2018, workers at job sites that require a Site Safety Plan (which includes sites that must designate a Construction Superintendent, Site Safety Coordinator or Site Safety Manager) and must receive a minimum of 40 hours of training. That means workers must have the OSHA 10 and 30 hours construction training.
Reference: New York State – Department of Labor – OSHA 10 Information
- All construction workers in the state to undergo a 10-hour safety training course (OSHA-
- 10) developed by the U.S. Labor Department’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) at least once every five years. The training must be completed no more than 15 days of being hired.
- All supervisors on a construction site to undergo a 30-hour safety training course (OSHA-30) approved by OSHA at least once every five years. The training must be completed no more than 15 days of being hired.
- If an employee or supervisor does not gain 10 or 30-hour certification, then their employment must be terminated or suspended. Employers who fail to terminate or suspend employees are subject to administrative fines and penalties.
Reference: Nevada Assembly Bill No. 148 (PDF)
Pennsylvania – Philadelphia
- All workers directly performing construction or demolition activities for which permits have been issued are required to complete OSHA 10 safety training or an approved equivalent. (Philadelphia Code, Title 4, Subcode A, Section A – 1001.4). This requirement applies to all employees of licensed contractors (including plumbing, electrical, fire – suppression and warm – air contractors) AND State – registered Home Improvement Contractors. Workers will be required to furnish proof of required safety training to Department of Licenses and Inspections officials upon request.
- All contractors licensed under Section 9 – 1004 of the Philadelphia Code must employ at least one supervisory employee who has completed OSHA 30 safety training, or approved equivalent, within the past 5 years. (Philadelphia Code, Section 9 – 1004(4)(c.1)). Licensed plumbing, electrical, fire suppression, and warm – air contractors are not required to employ an OSHA 30 supervisory employee. Identification of a supervisory employee and proof of training will be required for all new Contractor License applications made after September 30, 2015 and for the renewal of all Contractor Licenses set to expire on or after March 31, 2016.
- City of Philadelphia OSHA Safety Training Requirements (PDF)
- City of Philadelphia License and Inspections – Safety Training Info Sheet (PDF)
- All workers who perform work on municipal and state construction projects with a total project cost of one $100,000 of more to OSHA10-hour certification. Workers are also to carry the card on their person at all times while work is actually being performed.
- Any employee required to complete the OSHA 10-hour construction safety program who has not completed the program will be subject to removal from the worksite, if the employee does not provide documentation of having completed such program by the 15th day after the date the employee is found to be in noncompliance.
- The state may also assess a civil penalty of up to $2,500; in addition, such an employer shall be assessed a civil penalty of $100 per employee for each day of noncompliance.
Reference: Rhode Island General Laws – Title 37. Public Property and Works – §37-23-1 Safety awareness program required. (PDF)
- All workers who perform work on a public project costing more than $50,000 or more, requires each employee onsite to have their OSHA 10 hour certification card.
- Any employee required to complete the OSHA 10-hour construction safety program who has not completed the program will be subject to removal from the worksite, if the employee does not provide documentation of having completed such program by the 21st day after the date the employee is found to be in noncompliance.
- The state may also assess a civil penalty of up to $1,000; in addition, such an employer shall be assessed a civil penalty of $100 per employee for each day of noncompliance.
Reference: West Virginia Code – Chapter 21 Labor – Article 3. Safety and Welfare of Employees – §21-3-22. OSHA construction safety program.